jump to navigation

A light? July 25, 2006

Posted by thewandering in Uncategorized.
trackback

Ahh, fatherhood. Everything they tell you is true, everything they tell you is false. My conception of what ‘fatherhood’ was in relation to the reality of it is akin to an acorn in a forest. And I’m sorry, if you do not have kids of your own, you do not understand. I have a friend who helped take care of friends babies and I think a younger sibiling. He feels like he knows what I’m going through, and therefore I can’t complain. UNLESS YOU ARE A PARENT WHO HAS NOT SLEPT IN 5 MONTHS STRAIGHT, YOU DO NOT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT.

I barely do. That’s the big realization of fatherhood – humility. That, and how important it is to sleep. Everytime you hear “oh yes, new parents don’t get much sleep’, you relate it to your inner ‘Oh yeah, like when I stayed up all night studying”. Well, NO. A weekend of partying is completely different than the debilitating effects 5 months of little sleep, no sleep, or interrupted sleep has on your mental state. You realize you’re in war.

This is War. War of parenthood. That’s the only other ‘job’ I can think of where you have to be aware, alert, and ready for a change of plans while getting 6 hours or less sleep a night. War.

Can I have shore leave? please?

Ugh.

Granted, It’s amazing to watch our little one. The good outweighs the bad. The bad is just sooo tiring.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

